top of page
About David Michael Carrillo

For over 30 years, David Michael Carrillo (Ka-Re-Yo) has been ministering the life-changing Gospel of Jesus Christ with a Bible in one hand and a guitar in the other. He has traveled around the world sharing a message of hope and healing that was born out of his relationship with the Lord which started back in Sunday school in 1972 during the ''Jesus Movement''.

It was his relationship with the Lord that sustained him and his family during some very difficult times in his school years. Growing up, he faced the challenges of having Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder,(ADHD), learning disabilities, and being rejected by his peers.

In his 2006 book called "Fearfully & Wonderfully Made" (My Christian Journey with ADHD), David Michael shares about the healing power of the Gospel that delivered him from the fear of people and self doubt that developed as a teenager and young adult.

In the 1990s, David Michael began touring around the country ministering in music as a worship leader, songwriter, and recording artist. He started to become known as ''The Voice of GentleWind Music'' as many commented that his voice and music had a very calming, healing effect.

In time his music started to gain national and international radio and TV attention. His song "A Servant's Prayer" is featured in a book by former all-star pitcher Dave Dravecky called  "Portraits in Courage"(Zondervan 1998).


In April of 1999, David Michael was flown out to Littleton, CO to share his song "Trust in You" for the memorial service of Corey Depooter one of the students who lost their life at Columbine High School.

His songs ''Jesus Loves Me (We Clap Our Hands)" and ''Let The Words of My Mouth'' have been used at family and youth camps around the world.

In 2001, David Michael became a minister of the Gospel as doors began to open for him to speak and preach.

In 2002, the songs "Fearfully & Wonderfully Made" & and "Wounds & Pain" launched off David Michael's ADHD presentation and lecture which took him around the world.

After a short term mission trip to Latvia in 2008, David Michael felt a deep call to relocate to the country of Latvia in 2010 where he lives and serves the Latvian people. As a Musicianary, he ministers through preaching and singing throughout Western and Eastern European countries working closely with Spiritual Orphan Network ( in Latvia, Estonia, Slovakia,Ukraine, Albania and other former Soviet Union/Communist nations

In 2018, David Michael teamed up with Latvian Christian famed producer Valdis Indrisonoks and recorded Latvia's National Anthem ''Dievs Svēti Latviju'' (God Bless Latvia) in both Latvian and English, along with the songs "Presence of Peace'' and ''Teach Me Your Ways'' in time for Latvia's 100th birthday.

In the late summer of 2020, ''Dievs Svēti Latviju''  and ''Teach Me Your Ways'' were released as music videos with Latvia's National Anthem going viral with over 120k views and growing.

''Deliver Me'' (2023) produced by Latvian worship leader, Gatis Ozols is David Michael's newest release and features the title track "Deliver Me''(A Song for Ukraine) which gained worldwide attention on Spotify. The music video also made an impact in bringing attention to the crisis in Ukraine.

When not traveling on tour, David Michael serves as one of the pastors at St Gregors Education Center in Saldus and at Broceni Baptist Church in Broceni, Latvia . He also serves at Striki School as a Chaplin and Christian education teacher.
He also enjoys spending time with his Latvian family in the rural countryside of Striķi. His Latvian family, Kristaps, Līga, and Markuss have “adopted” him as one of their own, giving him the privilege of being a “dad” to them.

David Michael Carrillo's discography

1.  In The Quiet Moments (1989-90)

2. A Journey with the Wind (1996)

3. The Moments of My Life (1996) Limited edition collection

4. The Carols of Christmas (1996)

5. We Stand Clean (With Brian Ehline) EP (1997)

6. DMC Live In Concert (1998)

7. Hymns For The Quiet Moments (2000)

8. Fearfully & Wonderfully Made/Wound & Pain-Singles (2002)

9. I Surrender-The Early Years Collection (2003)

10. A Pilgrims Progress (1st edition 2005)

11. Live, from New York (with Ryan Zachariah Noll) (2006)

12. Fearfully & Wonderfully Made (Living with ADHD with Stories & Songs) (2007)

13. For All That You Are (2007)

13. A Pilgrims Progress (The Best of GentleWind Music 1988-2007) (2007)

14. Only By Your Grace (Live in Concert) 2009

15. The Live Concert Collection (2010)

16. For The Love of Latvia (2011)

17. Before Your Throne (2012)

18. Crossroads & Turning Points (2012)

19. The Joy of the Season (2012)

20. Alone with You (2015)

21. Summer Jam (2016)

22. The Best of David Michael Carrillo Vol 1 & 2 (2016)

23. Search Me Oh God (2017)

24. Dievs Svēti Latviju (God Bless Latvia) Ep (2018)

25. Deliver Me (2023)

26. Summer Camp Jam-Compilation (2023)


1. Lord We Have Come (2022)

2. When The Night Is Deep (2022)

3. You're All I Need (Feat Gatis Ozols-2023)

4. When The Night Is Deep (Tume Remix-2023)

Deliver Me


When The Night is Deep


Caught In The Middle


I'm Here for You Now


Fearfully & Wonderfully Made


Wounds & Pain


A Servants Prayer


Trust In You


bottom of page